2022 NAMLE Awards

2022 NAMLE Awards

Award nominations close on May 31.

At each national conference, NAMLE strives to honor those individuals and organizations who have exhibited impactful service, practice, or efforts that have greatly impacted the media literacy community and beyond. We invite NAMLE members to submit nominations for this year’s awards to be presented at NAMLE’s 2022 conference, which will be held virtually from July 15-17, 2022.

Please note that current NAMLE staff and board members are not eligible for nomination. All nominators and winners should make every effort to attend the conference in order to present/accept their awards.


Elizabeth Thoman Service Award

Formerly known as the Meritorious Service Award, the Elizabeth Thoman Service Award honors those who have given many years of service to the field of media literacy. NAMLE re-named the award this year in honor of Elizabeth Thoman, founding board member of NAMLE. This award recognizes individuals or projects that have significantly contributed to the growth and quality of the field of media literacy over the years. 

Media Literacy Teacher Award 

This award is given in each conference year to a teacher integrating a strong media literacy curriculum in PK-12 and/or higher education. The award may be given to a teacher in any subject area or grade level, as long as their curriculum reflects strong integration of media literacy concepts as detailed in the Core Principles of Media Literacy Education. Nominees from PK-12 and higher education will be evaluated and awarded separately.

Media Literacy Community Award

This award is intended to honor those who have committed significant time and energy in building the media literacy community. Nominees exemplify a spirit of generosity and collaboration to move the media literacy movement forward. 

Media Literacy Researcher Award

This award specifically recognizes a researcher advancing the field of media literacy.

Media Literate Media Award

The Media Literate Media Awards are designed to interest media in doing, covering or including media literacy in their work by recognizing outstanding contributions made by media professionals with national reach.

The Media Literate Media Awards recognize people, programs, initiatives, or organizations in media that:

  • Have raised the visibility of media literacy education or media literacy or,
  • Have helped citizens better understand media literacy education or media literacy, or
  • Have provided significant, outstanding resources that promote media literacy skills.

View a complete list of past award winners here.


Questions about the award nomination process? Contact us at conference@namle.net.