2021 NAMLE Awards

At each national conference, NAMLE strives to honor those individuals and organizations who have exhibited impactful service, practice, or efforts that have greatly impacted the media literacy community and beyond. We invite NAMLE members to submit nominations for this year’s awards to be presented at NAMLE’s 2021 conference, which will be held virtually from July 16-18, 2021.

Please note, current NAMLE staff and board members are not eligible for nomination. All nominators and winners should make every effort to attend the conference in order to present/accept their award.


Elizabeth Thoman Service Award

Formerly known as the Meritorious Service Award, the Elizabeth Thoman Service Award honors those who have given many years of service to the field of media literacy. NAMLE re-named the award this year in honor of Elizabeth Thoman, founding board member of NAMLE. This award recognizes individuals or projects that have significantly contributed to the growth and quality of the field of media literacy over the years. 

Media Literacy Teacher Award 

This award is given in each conference year to a K12 teacher integrating a strong media literacy curriculum. The award may be given to a teacher in any subject area, as long as their curriculum reflects strong integration of media literacy concepts as detailed in the CPMLE.

Media Literacy Community Award (Formerly Outstanding Volunteer Award)

This award is intended to honor those who have committed significant time and energy in building the media literacy community. Nominees exemplify a spirit of generosity and collaboration to move the media literacy movement forward. 

Media Literacy Researcher Award

This award specifically recognizes a researcher advancing the field of media literacy.

Media Literate Media Award

The Media Literate Media Awards are designed to interest mainstream media in doing, covering or including media literacy in their work by recognizing outstanding contributions made by mainstream media professionals with national reach.

The Media Literate Media Awards recognize people, programs, initiatives, or organizations in mainstream media that:

  • Have raised the visibility of media literacy education or media literacy or,
  • Have helped citizens better understand media literacy education or media literacy, or
  • Have provided significant, outstanding resources that enhance the ability of educators to practice the kind of inquiry-based media literacy education.

View a complete list of past award winners here.


Questions about the award nomination process? Contact the Awards Committee Chair, Bobbie Eisenstock at