Awards Ceremony


“Media Literate Media Awards” – The Media Literate Media Awards recognize outstanding contributions of mainstream media professionals with national reach doing, covering or including media literacy in their work.


Adam Ruins Everything – truTV: Host and investigative comedian Adam Conover embarks on a comically inventive yet unrelentingly serious quest to reveal the hidden truths behind everything you know and love. Tackling topics ranging from immigration and forensic science and the Wild West, he gives you not just fun facts to share with friends, but information that will make you see the world in a whole new way. The series is rooted in facts and encourages critical thinking, incorporating experts from the worlds of academia, journalism, and advocacy, and providing on- screen footnotes as well as a full bibliography of sources online for every episode.Adam Ruins Everything.jpeg

KQED – An NPR and PBS affiliate based in San Francisco, KQED serves the people of Northern California with a public-supported alternative to commercial media. KQED Teach courses take place in an online platform developed by KQED Learning that tracks user progress and encourages sharing and feedback through an integrated social community. Participants have access to a wide range of social media and digital media tools, allowing them to construct and remix media in multiple formats and across a variety of platforms while addressing many writing, reading, speaking and listening skills required by both the Common Core State Standards and Next Generation Science Standards.


“On the Media” – WNYC NPR Radio – WNYC’s weekly program is an investigation into how the media shapes our world-view hosted by Brooke Gladstone and Bob Garfield.


 “Media Literacy Researcher Award” – The Media Literacy Researcher Award specifically recognizes a researcher advancing the field of media literacy.

srivi-green.jpg2017 Winner: Srivi Ramusubramanian: Dr. Srividya ‘Srivi’ Ramasubramanian is Associate Dean for Climate & Inclusion in the College of Liberal Arts and Associate Professor of Communication at Texas A&M University. She is Co-founder and Executive Director of Media Rise, a global alliance for media educators, creative media professionals, activists, and artists committed to media for social good with over 3000 members.

 “Media Literacy Teacher Award”– The Media Literacy Teacher Award is given to a PK-12 teacher integrating a strong media literacy curriculum. The award may be given to a teacher in any subject area, as long as their curriculum reflects strong integration of media literacy concepts.

Graber.jpg-2017 Winner: Diana Graber/Cyber Civics: Ms. Graber is a nationally recognized expert on digital literacy, Co-Founder, CyberWise and Founder of Cyber Civics, a middle school media literacy curriculum.

“Outstanding Volunteer Award” – The Outstanding Volunteer Award recognizes a non-Board member volunteering a substantial amount of time in service of a specific NAMLE project or initiative.

Magolis2017 Winner: David Magolis: Dr. Magolis is an Associate Professor of Mass Communications at Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania. His primary areas of research include media literacy, multimedia communications, and emerging media technologies.

 “Elizabeth Thoman Service Award”– Formerly known as the Meritorious Service Award, the Elizabeth Thoman Service Award honors those who have given many years of service to the organization. NAMLE re-named the award this year in honor of Elizabeth Thoman, founding board member of NAMLE.

Culver_Sherri Hope (1).jpg2017 Winner: Sherri Hope Culver: Ms. Hope Culver is the Director of the Center for Media and Information Literacy and an Associate Professor in the Department of Media Studies and Production at Temple University.  Ms. Hope Culver is a three-term past-president of NAMLE.